top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • zwanjune

Sharing My Passion and Love for the Outdoors

I grew up in Yuma, Arizona. Small town, quaint but so incredibly special. There's really so much to do if you just know where to find the next adventure. And Yuma was full of adventures.


Much like other people from small towns, I migrated away from home for a few years in my early 20s. Luckily, I was fortunate enough to travel across the U.S., visit a lot trails, and just see a lot of people living their lives. I think seeing all those people figuring it all out changed my perspective on a lot of things and life, in general.


The best part for me was my exploration of wilderness while in different locations. Some of the most fascinating architecture, wildlife and natural landmarks made the journey an incredible experience. Wherever I go, I'm always so interested in what other people love doing and what drives them to do what they love. There's nothing better than meeting people that enjoy the outdoors as much as I do and you would be surprised at how passionate people are. People in coffee shops and local stores can strike up the most interesting conversations with you.


While in New Jersey for a hiking trip I met a man that used to do rock crawling in Utah. He told me all about the cliff faces in Canyonlands National Park. He once climbed Ice Cream Parlor and rappelled down solo. His hands were clear evidence of his journey.


I once met a woman who was over 50 that runs ultra marathons and competes in Ironman races all over the globe. And while in a hotel lobby in Colorado, I met two men that were about to do base jumping the next day in Canyon City, Colorado.


There are so many people living the outdoor life and it inspires me.



Sharing My Passion With Others


One of my primary goals is to spread my passion to others. There's really nothing quite like being able to make a young boy or girl smile and decide to go outside and find something to do! I'm just so driven to inspire others to look out and embrace their surroundings. I want everyone to feel as enthusiastic about being outdoors as they did when there were young. It's for all of us to enjoy and take part in.


That's the reason I've decided to write a book about my explorations and just try to frame it in a way that helps others become passionate about making a change. There are so many beautiful places to see and explore. Colorado in the fall, California in the spring, Yuma in the winter! This country is vast and no two places are the same. There are places in Arizona that snow and places that are almost as hot as the sun's surface. And there's really no substitute for being outside and feeling the wind around you while you hike through the vegetation and trees.


When we were young we would sing, "...from the Redwood Forest, to the Gulf Stream Waters, this land was made for you and me." This land really was made for you and me.



Ways To Get Started


I recently started getting online and being active. One of the reasons I never did before was just simply because I felt like I should spread the word the "old-fashioned way" - by word of mouth. I love helping face to face but today, almost all of us are online and connected to our phones. So if am going to make a difference. I'll have to connect to people online.


The best ways to get started are to find something that you like doing. It can be challenging to you or fairly easy, but it has to be something you would enjoy. I'm not saying not to take a chance, I'm just suggesting that you actually like whatever activity you are choosing to get into before you begin. It's easier that way and you have a better chance of sticking with it.


From there I always like doing things with friends or family so if you want to take up a new activity and want your friends to come along, ask! If not, then Google your new activity and see if there are places near you that offer classes or training. Any activity usually offers training or classes.


If the activity you chose is not available in your area, plan a mini-vacation or weekend trip. No matter where you live there is bound to be an area that can be explored. If not,


The goal is to find an activity outdoors that is enjoyable. Then to plan to do that activity on a regular basis and have fun at it. If you have children, ask them to come along and participate. If you have dogs, bring them with you. Even a stroll through the park can be fun and relaxing.


Some tips to find fun activities:

Google "Activities near me" - make a list of some activities in your area.



Summary


I'm driven to make a change in this world. I want us all to spend as much time outdoors as possible. There's nothing wrong with being inside an office, working towards your goals. But get outside when you can, go for a hike, take a vacation, experience a new place. You just might get a new perspective on things or see something you've never seen before. A lot can be said of an adventure. And it wasn't long ago that we had to be outside all of the time. Things change and times change. But you can get back to the outdoors and I truly believe it will help take some stress off your shoulders.


Join me!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page